## **ECOSOC Resolution 2008/8**

## Admission of the Sudan as a member of the Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia

The Economic and Social Council,

Taking into consideration paragraph 2 of Economic and Social Council resolution 1818 (LV) of 9 August 1973 concerning the terms of reference of the Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia, which provided that members of the Commission<sup>1</sup> should consist of the States Members of the United Nations situated in Western Asia that called on the services of the then United Nations Economic and Social Office in Beirut, and that future applications for membership by Member States should be decided on by the Council upon the recommendation of the Commission,

Recalling that the terms of reference and rules of procedure of the Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia do not cover the geographical location of countries that may become members thereof nor proscribe a member of one regional commission from being at the same time a member of another regional commission,

*Recalling also* that most of the other regional commissions have as members countries that are not located in the region that they serve,

- 1. Welcomes with satisfaction the request by the Government of the Sudan that it be admitted to membership in the Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia:
- 2. *Approves* the admission of the Sudan as a member of the Commission.

38th plenary meeting 22 July 2008

<sup>&</sup>quot;¹ The Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia comprises the following thirteen members: Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the Syrian Arab Republic, the United Arab Emirates and Yemen.