Decision 2019/201 A

Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments to subsidiary and related bodies of the Economic and Social Council

Elections

Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues

The Council elected Javad Safaei (Islamic Republic of Iran) by secret ballot, to the Forum for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 2019, to fill a vacancy arising from the resignation of Seyed Mohsen Emadi (Islamic Republic of Iran).

Organizational Committee of the Peacebuilding Committee

The Council elected the following States, by acclamation, in accordance with Council resolution 2015/1 of 4 March 2015, for a term beginning on 1 January 2019 and expiring on 31 December 2020, or until they cease to be members of the Council: Colombia, Ireland, Republic of Korea and Romania.

The Council postponed the election of one member from the African States and two States members of the Council for a two-year term beginning on 1 January 2019 and expiring on 31 December 2020.

Appointments

Committee for Development Policy

The Council appointed Rolph van der Hoeven (Netherlands), nominated by the Secretary-General, to serve on the Committee for a term beginning on 1 January 2019 and expiring on 31 December 2021, to fill a vacancy arising from the resignation of Teresa Ribera (Spain).

Outstanding vacancies from previous sessions

Elections

Commission on Population and Development

The Council elected El Salvador, by acclamation, to the Commission, for a four-year term beginning at the first meeting of the fifty-third session of the Commission in 2019 and expiring at the close of its fifty-sixth session in 2023.

The Council further postponed the election to fill one vacancy from the Asia-Pacific States, for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring at the close of the fifty-fourth session of the Commission in 2021, one vacancy from the African States and one vacancy from the Asia-Pacific States, for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring at the close of its fifty-fifth session in 2022, and one vacancy from the Latin American and Caribbean States and one vacancy from the Western European and other States for a four-year term beginning at the first meeting of the fifty-third session of the Commission in 2019 and expiring at the close of its fifty-sixth session in 2023.

Commission for Social Development

The Council elected Ukraine, by acclamation, to the Commission, for a four-year term beginning at the first meeting of the fifty-eighth session of the Commission in 2019 and expiring at the close of its sixty-first session in 2023.

The Council further postponed the election to fill one vacancy from the Western European and other States, for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring at the close of the fifty-eighth session of the Commission in 2020, two vacancies from Western European and other States, for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring at the close of its fifty-ninth session in 2021, and two vacancies from the Asia-Pacific States and two vacancies from the Western European and other States, for a four-year term beginning at the first meeting of the fifty-eighth session of the Commission in 2019 and expiring at the close of its sixty-first session in 2023.

Commission on Crime Prevention and Criminal Justice

The Council elected Ecuador and Guatemala, by acclamation, to the Commission for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2019 and expiring on 31 December 2021.

The Council further postponed the elections of one member from African States for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 2020, and one member from the Eastern European States a for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2019 and expiring on 31 December 2021.

Commission on Science and Technology for Development

The Council elected the Dominican Republic, by acclamation, to the Commission for a four-year term beginning on 1 January 2019 and expiring on 31 December 2022.

The Council further postponed the election of one member from African States and two members from Latin American and Caribbean States for a four-term beginning on 1 January 2019 and expiring on 31 December 2022.

Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights

The Council elected Preeti Saran (India), by acclamation, to the Committee, for a four-year term beginning on 1 January 2019 and expiring on 31 December 2022.

Intergovernmental Working Group of Experts on International Standards of Accounting and Reporting

The Council elected Morocco, by acclamation, to fill an outstanding vacancy on the Working Group for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2019 and expiring on 31 December 2021.

The Council further postponed the election of two members from Asia-Pacific States and one member from Latin American and Caribbean States, for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 2018, one member from African States, two members from Asia-Pacific States, three members from the Latin American and Caribbean States and seven members from the Western European and other States, for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 2020, and one member from the African States, one member from the Asia-Pacific States, and one member from the Latin American and Caribbean States, for a term beginning on 1 January 2019 and expiring on 31 December 2021.

Executive Board of the United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women

Election of a member from the contributing countries, in accordance with paragraph 61 (b) of General Assembly resolution 64/289

The Council elected the United Arab Emirates, by acclamation, to the Executive Board in accordance with paragraph 61 (b) of General Assembly resolution 64/289 of 2 July 2010, for a term beginning on 1 January 2019 and expiring on 31 December 2019.

Programme Coordinating Board of the Joint UN Programme on HIV/AIDS (UNAIDS)

The Council elected France, by acclamation, for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 2019, to replace Germany, who was resigning its seat effective 31 December 2018.