Decision 2018/201 G

Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments to subsidiary and related bodies of the Economic and Social Council

At its 51st meeting, held on 24 July 2018, the Economic and Social Council took the following action with regard to vacancies in its subsidiary and related bodies:

Elections

Commission on Science and Technology for Development

The Council elected **Oman** and **Turkey**, by acclamation, to the Commission on Science and Technology for Development for a term beginning on 1 January 2019 and expiring on 31 December 2022.

The Council further postponed the election of one member from African States and three members from Latin American and Caribbean States for a term beginning on 1 January 2019 and expiring on 31 December 2022.

Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights

The Council elected Karla Vanessa Lemus de Vásquez (El Salvador), by acclamation, to the Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights for a term beginning on 1 January 2019 and expiring on 31 December 2022. The Council further postponed the election of one member from Asia-Pacific States for a term beginning on 1 January 2019 and expiring on 31 December 2022.

Committee for the United Nations Population Award

The Council elected Liberia, by acclamation, to the Committee for the United Nations Population Award for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2019 and expiring on 31 December 2021.

The Council further postponed the election of two members from African States, three members from Asia-Pacific States, one member from Eastern European States, two members from Latin American and Caribbean States, and one member from Western European and other States, all for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2019.

Appointments

Committee for Development Policy

The Council appointed the following 24 experts to the Committee for Development Policy for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2019 and expiring on 31 December 2021: Adriana Abdenur (Brazil), Debapriya Bhattacharya (Bangladesh), Winifred Byanyima (Uganda), Ha-Joon Chang (Republic of Korea), Diane Elson (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland), Marc Fleurbaey (France), Sakiko Fukuda-Parr (Japan), Kevin Gallagher (United States of America), Arunabha Ghosh (India), Sen Gong (China), Trudi Hartzenberg

(South Africa), Rashid Hassan (Sudan), Stephan Klasen (Germany), Amina Mama (Nigeria), Mariana Mazzucato (Italy), Leticia Merino (Mexico), Jacqueline Musiitwa (Zambia), Keith Nurse (Trinidad and Tobago), José Antonio Ocampo Gaviria (Colombia), Teresa Ribera (Spain), Meg Taylor (Papua New Guinea), Taffere Tesfachew (Ethiopia), Kori Udovicki (Serbia) and Natalya Volchkova (Russian Federation).