ECOSOC Decision 2006/201 D

Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments to subsidiary and related bodies of the Economic and Social Council

At its 45th meeting, on 30 November 2006, the Economic and Social Council took the following action with regard to vacancies in its subsidiary and related bodies:

Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights

The Council elected Zhan Daode (China) for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 2008, to fill a vacancy arising from the resignation of Yongxiang Shen.

Committee for Programme and Coordination

The Council nominated **France** for election by the General Assembly for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2007.

The Council further postponed the nomination of one member from the Group of Western European and Other States for election by the General Assembly for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2007.

Committee for Development Policy

The Council appointed the following 24 experts for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2007: Bina Agarwal (India), José Antonio Alonso (Spain), Lourdes Arizpe (Mexico), Tariq Banuri (Pakistan), Albert Binger (Jamaica), Olav Bjerkholt (Norway), Kwesi Botchwey (Ghana), Gui Ying Cao (China), Ricardo Ffrench-Davis (Chile), Stanisława Golinowska (Poland), Patrick Guillaumont (France), Philippe Hein (Mauritius), Hiroya Ichikawa (Japan), Willene Johnson (United States of America), Martin Khor (Malaysia), Amina Mama (South Africa). Hans Opschoor (Netherlands), Punyaratabandhu (Thailand), Fatima Sadiqi (Morocco), Frances Stewart (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland), Diana Tussie (Argentina), Milica Uvalic (Serbia), Anatoly Vishnevsky (Russian Federation), Samuel Wangwe (United Republic of Tanzania).