## ECOSCO Decision 2005/201 E

## Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments to subsidiary and related bodies of the Economic and Social Council

At its 34th plenary meeting, on 21 July 2005, the Economic and Social Council took the following action with regard to vacancies in its subsidiary and related bodies:

#### Election

# **Intergovernmental Working Group of Experts on International Standards of Accounting and Reporting**

The Council elected **Sweden** for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2006.

The Council further postponed the election of one member from Asian States, two members from Latin American and Caribbean States and three members from Western European and other States for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2006.

#### Nomination

## **Committee for Programme and Coordination**

The Council nominated **Switzerland** for election by the General Assembly for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2006.

The Council was informed that the **United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland** had withdrawn as a nominee for election by the General Assembly (see Council decision 2005/201 C).

The Council therefore postponed the nomination of two members from Western European and other States for election by the General Assembly for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2006.

### **Appointments**

## **Committee of Experts on International Cooperation in Tax Matters**

The Council took note of the appointment by the Secretary-General of the following 25 experts for a four-year term expiring on 30 June 2009: Moftah Jassim Al-Moftah (Qatar), Bernell L. Arrindell (Barbados), Noureddine Bensouda (Morocco), Rowena G. Bethel (Bahamas), Patricia A. Brown (United States of America), José Antonio Bustos Buiza (Spain), Nahil L. Hirsh Carrillo (Peru), Danies Kawama Chisenda (Zambia), Paolo Ciocca (Italy), Andrew Dawson (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland), Talmon de Paula Freitas (Brazil), Harry Msamire Kitillya (United Republic of Tanzania), Frank Mullen (Ireland), Kyung Geun Lee (Republic of Korea), Habiba Louati (Tunisia), Ronald Peter van der Merwe (South Africa), Dmitry Vladimirovich Nikolaev (Russian Federation), Pascal Saint-Amans

(France), Serafin U. Salvador, Jr. (Philippines), Erwin Silitonga (Indonesia), Stig B. Sollund (Norway), Yoshiki Takeuchi (Japan), Robert Waldburger (Switzerland), Armando Lara Yaffar (Mexico), Zhiyong Zhang (China).

## **Committee of Experts on Public Administration**

The Council approved the nomination by the Secretary-General of the following 24 experts for a four-year term beginning on 1 January 2006: Peter Anyang' Nyong'o (Kenya), Ousmane Batoko (Benin), Marie-Françoise Bechtel (France), Rachid Benmokhtar Benabdellah (Morocco), Emilia Boncodin (Philippines), Jocelyne Bourgon (Canada), Luiz Carlos Bresser-Pereira (Brazil), Mario P. Chiti (Italy), Mikhail Dmitriev (Russian Federation), Geraldine Fraser-Moleketi (South Africa), Edgar Alfonso González Salas (Colombia), Werner Jann (Germany), Taher Kannan (Jordan), Pan Suk Kim (Republic of Korea), Barbara Kudrycka (Poland), Florin Lupescu (Romania), Anthony Makrydemetres (Greece), Jose Oscar Monteiro (Mozambique), Siripurapu Kesava Rao (India), Dennis Rondinelli (United States of America), Prijono Tjiptoherijanto (Indonesia), Luis Aguilar Villanueva (Mexico), Gwendoline Williams (Trinidad and Tobago), Wang Xiaochu (China).