ECOSOC Decision 2005/201 C

Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments to subsidiary and related bodies of the Economic and Social Council

At its 7th plenary meeting, on 27 April 2005, the Economic and Social Council took the following action with regard to vacancies in its subsidiary and related bodies:

Elections

Statistical Commission

The Council elected the following eight Member States for a fouryear term beginning on 1 January 2006: Canada, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Finland, France, Jamaica, Mauritania, Russian Federation, South Africa.

Commission on Population and Development

The Council elected the following 16 Member States for a four-year term beginning at the first meeting, in 2006, of the Commission's fortieth session and expiring at the close of the Commission's forty-third session, in 2010: China, Gambia, India, Jamaica, Lebanon, Mexico, Oman, the Russian Federation, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Sweden, Ukraine, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America, Uruguay, Zambia.

The Council also elected **Haiti** to fill a postponed vacancy on the Commission for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring at the close of the Commission's forty-first session, in 2008.

Commission on Human Rights

The Council elected the following 15 Member States for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2006: Argentina, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Botswana, Brazil, Cameroon, China, Germany, Japan, Morocco, United States of America, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of), Zimbabwe.

Commission on the Status of Women

The Council elected the following 13 Member States for a four-year term beginning at the initial meeting, in 2006, of the Commission's fifty-first session and expiring at the close of the Commission's fifty-fourth session, in 2010: Brazil, Cameroon, Djibouti, Ecuador, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Lesotho, Malaysia, Mexico, Republic of Korea, Togo, United Arab Emirates, Zambia.

Commission on Narcotic Drugs

The Council elected the following 20 Member States by acclamation for a four-year term beginning on 1 January 2006: Australia, Belgium, Bolivia, Canada, Colombia, Jamaica, Japan,

Mexico, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Poland, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Tajikistan, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

Commission on Crime Prevention and Criminal Justice

The Council elected the following 19 Member States by acclamation for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2006: Armenia, Austria, Bolivia, Chile, China, Costa Rica, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Comoros, Germany, Italy, Japan, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Namibia, Niger, Pakistan, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, Senegal, Uganda.

The Council postponed the election of one member from African States for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2006.

Commission on Sustainable Development

The Council elected the following 16 Member States for a three-year term beginning at the organizational meeting, in 2006, of the Commission's fifteenth session and expiring at the close of the Commission's seventeenth session in 2009: Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, Chile, Czech Republic, Djibouti, Indonesia, Kuwait, Peru, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, Senegal, Spain, Sudan, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United Republic of Tanzania, United States of America.

Intergovernmental Working Group of Experts on International Standards of Accounting and Reporting

The Council elected the following 14 Member States for a threeyear term beginning on 1 January 2006: China, Germany, Italy, Lebanon, Malta, Namibia, Panama, Portugal, Russian Federation, Senegal, South Africa, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United Republic of Tanzania, Uganda.

The Council postponed the election of one member from Asian States, two members from Latin American and Caribbean States and four members from Western European and other States for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2006.

Executive Board of the United Nations Children's Fund

The Council elected the following 11 Member States for a threeyear term beginning on 1 January 2006: Burkina Faso, Canada, Colombia, Denmark, Guatemala, Pakistan, Republic of Korea, Rwanda, Serbia and Montenegro, Spain, United States of America.

Executive Committee of the Programme of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees

The Council elected **Ghana** and **Romania** in accordance with General Assembly resolution 59/169 of 20 December 2004.

Executive Board of the United Nations Development Programme/United Nations Population Fund

The Council elected the following 11 Member States for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2006: Algeria, Bangladesh, Benin, Ecuador, Jamaica, Japan, New Zealand, Norway, Pakistan, Russian Federation, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

The Council decided that **Germany** and **Switzerland**, which were resigning their seats on the Board effective 1 January 2006, would be replaced, respectively, by **France** for a term expiring on 31 December 2006 and **Canada** for a term expiring on 31 December 2007.

Executive Board of the World Food Programme

The Council elected the following six Member States for a threeyear term beginning on 1 January 2006: Indonesia, Japan, Mexico, Ukraine, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Zimbabwe.

Programme Coordination Board of the Joint United Nations Programme on Human Immunodeficiency Virus/Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome (HIV/AIDS) (UNAIDS)

The Council elected the following four Member States for a threeyear term beginning on 1 January 2006: **Australia, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Finland, Grenada.**

The Council postponed the election of one member from Asian States for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2006.

The Council decided that:

- (a) **Canada** and **Denmark**, which were resigning their seats on the Board effective 27 April 2005, would be replaced, respectively, by **Australia** and **Finland**, each for a term expiring on 31 December 2005;
- (b) **France** and the **United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland**, which were resigning their seats effective 1 January 2006, would be replaced, respectively, by **Germany** for a term expiring on 31 December 2007 and **Italy** for a term expiring on 31 December 2006.

Nominations

Committee for Programme and Coordination

The Council nominated the following 18 Member States for election by the General Assembly for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2006: Argentina, Armenia, Belarus, Benin, Brazil, Bulgaria, the Central African Republic, Cuba, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Italy, Pakistan, Portugal, Senegal, South Africa, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Uruguay.

The Council postponed the nomination of two members from Western European and other States for election by the General Assembly for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2006.

Appointments

Committee of Experts on the Transport of Dangerous Goods and on the Globally Harmonized System of Classification and Labelling of Chemicals

The Council endorsed the decision of the Secretary-General to approve the application of **Zambia** for membership in the Subcommittee of Experts on the Globally Harmonized System of Classification and Labelling of Chemicals (GHS Subcommittee).

Other elections

Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights

The Council elected Arundhati **Ghose** (India) for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 2006, to fill a vacancy arising from the resignation of Chokila **Iyer** (India).

Committee for the United Nations Population Award

The Council elected **Haiti** to fill a postponed vacancy on the Committee for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 2006.