#### ECOSOC Decision 2004/201 A

# Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments to subsidiary and related bodies of the Economic and Social Council

At its 2nd plenary meeting on 4 February 2004, the Economic and Social Council took the following action with regard to vacancies in its subsidiary and related bodies:

## **Intergovernmental Working Group of Experts on International Standards of Accounting and Reporting**

The Council elected **Malaysia**, **Mexico** and **Pakistan** to fill postponed vacancies for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 2006.

The Council postponed the election of two members from Asian States, two members from Latin American and Caribbean States and three members from Western European and other States for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 2005, and one member from Eastern European States and one member from Latin American and Caribbean States for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 2006.

### **Executive Board of the International Research and Training Institute** for the Advancement of Women

The Council elected **Italy** to fill a postponed vacancy for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 2006.

The Council postponed the election of two members from African States, one member from Asian States and two members from Eastern European States for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 2006.

### **Committee for Development Policy**

The Council appointed the following 24 experts for a term beginning on the date of appointment and expiring on 31 December 2006: N'Dri Thérèse Assié-Lumumba (Côte d'Ivoire), Patricia Bifani-Richard (Chile/Italy), Albert Binger (Jamaica), Olav Bjerkholt (Norway), Gui Ying Cao (China), Eugenio B. Figueroa (Chile), Leonid M. Grigoriev (Russian Federation), Patrick Guillaumont (France), Heba Handoussa (Egypt), Hiroya Ichikawa (Japan), Willene Johnson (United States of America), Marju Lauristin (Estonia), P. Jayendra Nayak (India), Milivoje Panić (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland), Eul Yong Park (Republic of Korea), Carola Pessino (Argentina), Suchitra Punyaratabandhu (Thailand), Sylvia Saborio (Costa Rica), Nasser Hassan Saidi (Lebanon), Udo Ernst Simonis (Germany), Funmi Togonu-Bickersteth (Nigeria), Geedreck Usvatte-Aratchi (Sri Lanka), Samuel Wangwe (United Republic of Tanzania) and Kerfalla Yansane (Guinea).

#### **Committee of Experts on Public Administration**

The Council appointed **Wang** Xiaochu (China) for a term beginning on the date of appointment and expiring on 31 December 2005, to fill a vacancy arising from the resignation of **Jin** Liqun (China).

### Committee of Experts on the Transport of Dangerous Goods and on the Globally Harmonized System of Classification and Labelling of Chemicals

The Council endorsed the decision of the Secretary-General to approve the application from **Serbia and Montenegro** for membership in the Subcommittee of Experts on the Globally Harmonized System of Classification and Labelling of Chemicals (GHS Subcommittee).