### ECOSOC Decision 2002/201 D

# Elections and nominations to subsidiary bodies of the Economic and Social Council

At its 44th plenary meeting, on 25 October 2002, the Economic and Social Council took the following action with regard to vacancies in its subsidiary bodies:

## **Elections postponed from previous sessions**

## Commission on Science and Technology for Development

The Council elected **Jordan** for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 2004.

The Council also elected **Belgium** for a four-year term beginning on 1 January 2003.

The Council further postponed to a future session the election of two members from Western European and other States for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 2004, and two members from Western European and other States for a four-year term beginning on 1 January 2003.

## **Intergovernmental Working Group of Experts on International Standards of Accounting and Reporting**

The Council elected **Panama** for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2003.

The Council further postponed to a future session the election of one member from Eastern European States and one member from Latin American and Caribbean States for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 2003; and one member from African States, two members from Asian States, two members from Latin American and Caribbean States and six members from Western European and other States for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2003.

### **Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues**

The Council elected **Qin** Xiaomei (China) for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 2004.

### Nominations postponed from a previous session

#### **Committee for Programme and Coordination**

The Council nominated **Switzerland** for election by the General Assembly at its fifty-seventh session for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2003.

The Council further postponed the nomination of one member from Western European and other States for election by the General Assembly for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2003.