## ECOSOC Decision 2001/236

## Confirmation of members of the Board of the United Nations Research Institute for Social Development

At its 40th plenary meeting, on 24 July 2001, the Economic and Social Council:

(a) Confirmed the nomination by the Commission for Social Development of the following candidates for membership in the Board of the United Nations Research Institute for Social Development for a period of four years, expiring on 30 June 2005:

Sir Tony Atkinson (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland):

Jean-Paul Fitoussi (France);

Anna Hedborg (Sweden);

Amina Mama (Nigeria);

Adele Smith Simmons (United States of America);

Jomo Kwame Sundaram (Malaysia);

(b) Confirmed the renomination by the Commission of the following candidates for membership in the Board for a further term of two years, expiring on 30 June 2003:

Heba Handoussa (Egypt); Marcia Rivera (United States of America); Gita Sen (India).