1998/202 D. Elections to subsidiary bodies of the Economic and Social Council, nominations, appointments and confirmation of representatives on the functional commissions

At its 50th plenary meeting, on 16 December 1998, the Economic and Social Council took the following action with regard to vacancies in its subsidiary and related bodies:

Elections

COMMITTEE ON ENERGY AND NATURAL RESOURCES FOR DEVELOPMENT

The Council elected the following twenty experts for a four-year term beginning on 1 January 1999: Carlos Alberto Aguilar Molina (El Salvador), Hernán Bravo Trejos (Costa Rica), Dmytro Victorovych Derogan (Ukraine), Bernard Devin (France), Malin Falkenmark (Sweden), Siripong Hungspreug (Thailand), Jon Ingimarsson (Iceland), Ahmad Kahrobaian (Islamic Republic of Iran), Owen MacDonald Kankhulungo (Malawi), Paul M. Kodzwa (Zimbabwe), Markku Juhani Mäkelä (Finland), John Michael Matuszak (United States of America), Sergey M. Natalchuk (Russian Federation), Ainun Nishat (Bangladesh), Neculai Pavlovschi (Romania), Carlos Augusto Saldivar (Paraguay), Eddy Kofi Smith (Ghana), Wilhelmus C. Turkenburg (Netherlands), Raymond Marcio Wright (Jamaica) and Zhang Guocheng (China).

The Council postponed to a future session the election of three members from African States and one member from Asian States for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 2002.

COMMISSION ON SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY FOR DEVELOPMENT

The Council elected the following twenty-four Member States for a term beginning on 1 January 1999: AUSTRIA, BELARUS, BELGIUM, BOLIVIA, BRAZIL, CHINA, COLOMBIA, CUBA, GERMANY, GREECE, INDONESIA, IRAN (ISLAMIC REPUBLIC OF), JAMAICA, PAKISTAN,

PARAGUAY, PORTUGAL, REPUBLIC OF KOREA, ROMANIA. RUSSIAN FEDERATION, SLOVAKIA, SPAIN, TUNISIA, UNITED KINGDOM OF GREAT BRITAIN AND NORTHERN IRELAND and UNITED STATES OF AMERICA.

In accordance with Council resolution 1998/47 of 31 July 1998, lots were drawn to determine the initial terms of office of the elected members. It was thus decided that the following twelve States would serve for a term beginning on 1 January 1999 and expiring on 31 December 2000: AUSTRIA, BRAZIL, CUBA, JAMAICA, REPUBLIC OF KOREA, RUSSIAN FEDERATION, SLOVAKIA, SPAIN, UNITED KINGDOM OF GREAT BRITAIN AND NORTHERN IRELAND, UNITED STATES OF AMERICA and two members from Asian States; the following fourteen States would serve for a term beginning on 1 January 1999 and expiring on 31 December 2002: BELARUS, BELGIUM, BOLIVIA, CHINA, COLOMBIA, GERMANY, GREECE, INDONESIA, IRAN (ISLAMIC REPUBLIC OF), PAKISTAN, PARAGUAY, PORTUGAL, ROMANIA and TUNISIA.

The Council postponed to a future session the election of seven members from African States for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on a date to be determined by lot, and two members from Asian States for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 2000.

COMMISSION ON SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT

The Council decided that FINLAND, which was to withdraw from the Commission effective 31 December 1998, would be replaced by SWEDEN for a term beginning on 1 January 1999 and expiring at the close of the seventh session of the Commission in 1999.

Appointments

COMMITTEE FOR DEVELOPMENT POLICY

The Council appointed the following twenty-four experts for a two-year term, on an exceptional basis, beginning on 1 January 1999: Mária Agusztinovics (Hungary), Maria Julia Alsogary (Argentina), Makhtar Diouf (Senegal), Essam El-Hinnawi (Egypt), Just Faaland (Norway), Eugenio B. Figueroa (Chile), Albert Fishlow (United States of America), Gao Shangquan (China), Leonid M. Grigoriev (Russian Federation), Patrick Guillaumont (France), Ryokichi Hirono (Japan), Taher Kanaan (Jordan), Louka T. Katseli (Greece), Nguyuru H. I. Lipumba (United Republic of Tanzania), Solita C. Monsod (Philippines), P. Jayendra Nayak (India), Mari Elka Pangestu (Indonesia), Milivoje Panić (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland), Park Eul Yong (Republic of Korea), Bishnodat Persaud (Guyana), Akilagpa Sawyerr (Ghana), Udo Ernst Simonis (Germany), Ruben Tansini (Uruguay) and Miguel Urrutia (Colombia).

The Council further decided that the term of office of future appointees would be three years.

Confirmations

The Council confirmed the nominations by their Governments of the following representatives on the functional commissions of the Council:

COMMISSION ON POPULATION AND DEVELOPMENT

Jean-Marie AKPOUE BROU (Côte d'Ivoire) Alica WERTHÉIMER BALETIC (Croatia)

STATISTICAL COMMISSION

Edmé KOFFI (Côte d'Ivoire)

Elections postponed from previous sessions

PROGRAMME COORDINATING BOARD OF THE JOINT AND CO-SPONSORED UNITED NATIONS PROGRAMME ON HUMAN IMMUNODEFICIENCY VIRUS/ACQUIRED IMMUNODEFICIENCY SYNDROME (HIV/AIDS)

The Council elected the following two Member States for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 1999: GABON and UNITED REPUBLIC OF TANZANIA.

The Council further postponed to a future session the election of one member from Asian States for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 2001.