#### 1996/317. Elections to subsidiary bodies of the Economic and Social Council

At its 55th and 56th plenary meetings, on 14 and 20 November 1996, the Economic and Social Council took the following action with regard to vacancies in its subsidiary and related bodies:

## COMMISSION FOR SOCIAL DEVELOPMENT

The Council elected the following seven Member States for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on a date to be determined by lot: CAMEROON, GAMBIA, MALTA, MAURITANIA, PAKISTAN, SPAIN and UGANDA.

The Council postponed to a future session the election of three members from Asian States, one member from Eastern European States and three members from Latin American and Caribbean States for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on a date to be determined by lot.

#### COMMISSION ON HUMAN SETTLEMENTS

The Council elected BELARUS for a four-year term beginning on 1 January 1997.

The Council postponed to a future session the election of one member from Asian States and two members from Latin American and Caribbean States for a four-year term beginning on 1 January 1997 and one member from African States and one member from Asian States for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 1999.

## COMMITTEE ON NATURAL RESOURCES

The Council elected Vladislav M. Dolgopolov (Russian Federation) for a term beginning on 1 January 1997.

The Council postponed to a future session the election of two experts from Asian States, two experts from Eastern European States, one expert from Latin American and Caribbean States and three experts from Western European and other States for a term beginning on 1 January 1997 and expiring on a date to be determined by lot.

# COMMITTEE ON NEW AND RENEWABLE SOURCES OF ENERGY AND ON ENERGY FOR DEVELOPMENT

The following three experts were elected for a term beginning on 1 January 1997 and expiring on a date to be determined by lot: José María Gamio Cia (Uruguay), William Michael Mebane (Italy) and Dmitri B. Volfberg (Russian Federation).

The Council postponed to a future session the election of six experts from African States, one expert from Asian States, two experts from Eastern European States, one expert from Latin American and Caribbean States and one expert from Western European and other States for a term beginning on 1 January 1997 and expiring on a date to be determined by lot.