1996/298. Elections, appointments, nominations and confirmations

At its 50th plenary meeting, on 25 July 1996, the Economic and Social Council took the following action with regard to vacancies in its subsidiary and related bodies:

PROGRAMME COORDINATION BOARD OF THE JOINT AND CO-SPONSOREDUNITED NATIONS PROGRAMME ON HUMAN IMMUNO-DEFICIENCY VIRUS /ACQUIRED IMMUNODEFICIENCY SYNDROME

The following Member States were elected for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 1997: CANADA, CÔTE D'IVOIRE, MEXICO, NORWAY and THAILAND.

BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE INTERNATIONAL RESEARCH AND TRAINING INSTITUTE FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF WOMEN

The Council appointed Maria Jonas (Austria), Noëlie Kangoye (Burkina Faso) and Mona Chemali Khalaf (Lebanon) for a term beginning on the date of appointment and expiring on 30 June 1999.

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF THE PROGRAMME OF THE UNITED NATIONS HIGH COMMISSIONER FOR REFUGEES

The Council elected IRELAND in accordance with General Assembly resolution 50/228 of 7 June 1996.

COMMITTEE FOR PROGRAMME AND COORDINATION

The Council, in accordance with its resolution 2008 (LX) of 14 May 1976 and General Assembly decision 42/450 of 17 December 1987, nominated AUSTRIA for election by the General Assembly at its fifty-first session for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 1997.

The nomination of one member from Western European and other States was postponed.

COMMISSION ON HUMAN SETTLEMENTS

The Council postponed to a future session the election of one member from Asian States, one member from Eastern European States and two members from Latin American and Caribbean States for a four-year term beginning on 1 January 1997.

The Council also postponed to a future session the election of one member from African States and one member from Asian States for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 1999.

COMMISSION ON POPULATION AND DEVELOPMENT

The Council elected MALAYSIA for a four-year term beginning on 1 January 1997.

The Council postponed to a future session the election of one member from Asian States and two members from Latin American and Caribbean States for a four-year term beginning on 1 January 1997.

COMMISSION ON CRIME PREVENTION AND CRIMINAL JUSTICE

The following States were elected for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 1997: EGYPT, GAMBIA and MALAWI.

EXECUTIVE BOARD OF THE WORLD FOOD PROGRAMME

The following States were elected for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 1997: ANGOLA and ETHIOPIA.

INTERGOVERNMENTAL WORKING GROUP OF EXPERTS ON INTERNATIONALSTANDARDS OF ACCOUNTING AND REPORTING

The Council elected PANAMA for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 1997.

The Council postponed to a future session the election of one member from African States, two members from Asian States, one member from Latin American and Caribbean States and three members from Western European and other States for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 1997.

The Council also postponed to a future session the election of one member from African States and two members from Latin American and Caribbean States for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 1997 and one member from Latin American and Caribbean States for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 1996.

COMMITTEE ON NATURAL RESOURCES

The following experts were elected for a term beginning on 1 January 1997: Gustavo Alvarez (Uruguay), Adel Jalili (Islamic Republic of Iran), Mohammad Nawaz Khan (Pakistan), Carlos A. Saldívar (Paraguay) and Carmen Luisa Velásquez de Visbal (Venezuela).

The Council postponed to a future session the election of two experts from Asian States, three experts from Eastern European States, one expert from Latin American and Caribbean States and three experts from Western European and other States for a term beginning on 1 January 1997.

Since the membership was not complete, the Council did not draw lots to determine the terms of office.

COMMITTEE ON NEW AND RENEWABLE SOURCES OF ENERGY AND ON ENERGY FOR DEVELOPMENT

The following experts were elected for a term beginning on 1 January 1997: Bernard Devin (France), Ahmad Kahrobaian (Islamic Republic of Iran), Choon-Ho Kim (Republic of Korea), Daniel F. Perez Fernández-Ravetti (Paraguay), Eduardo Praselj (Venezuela) and E. V. R. Sastry (India).

The Council postponed to a future session the election of six experts from African States, one expert from Asian States, three experts from Eastern European States, two experts from Latin American and Caribbean States and two experts from Western European and other States for a term beginning on 1 January 1997.

Since the membership was not complete, the Council did not draw lots to determine the terms of office.

COMMISSION ON SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY FOR DEVELOPMENT

The Council further postponed the election of two members from Western European and other States for a term beginning on the date of election.

Confirmations

Also at its 50th plenary meeting, on 25 July 1996, the Council confirmed the nominations by their Governments of the following representatives on functional commissions of the Council:²¹⁰

COMMISSION ON POPULATION AND DEVELOPMENT

Robert Louis CLIQUET (Belgium)

Elina VISURI (Finland)

Charlotte HÖHN (Germany)

Joseph CASSAR (Malta)

Ram Hari ARYAL (Nepal)

Jotham MUSINGUZI (Uganda)

COMMISSION FOR SOCIAL DEVELOPMENT

Aino-Inkeri HANSSON (Finland)

WANG Xeuxian (China)

Shaheed RAJIE (South Africa)

COMMISSION ON THE STATUS OF WOMEN

Ana FRANGOUDAKI (Greece)

Makiko ARIMA-SAKAI (Japan)

Karin STOLTENBERG (Norway)

COMMISSION ON CRIME PREVENTION AND CRIMINAL JUSTICE

Ferdinand MAYRHOFER-GRUENBUEHEL (Austria)

Yuki FURUTA (Japan)

Stanley K. NDLOVU (Swaziland)

²¹⁰ See E/1996/3/Add.1.

COMMISSION ON HUMAN RIGHTS

WU Jianmin (China)