1996/201. Elections to subsidiary bodies of the Economic and Social Council, nominations and confirmation of representatives on the functional commissions

At its 1st and 2nd plenary meetings, on 25 January and 9 February 1996, the Economic and Social Council took the following action with regard to vacancies in its subsidiary and related bodies:

COMMISSION ON POPULATION AND DEVELOPMENT

The Council elected the following fifteen Member States for a term beginning on the date of election: CUBA, EL SALVADOR, FINLAND, IRAN (ISLAMIC REPUBLIC OF), ITALY, MALTA, NEPAL, PAKISTAN, PERU, PHILIPPINES, REPUBLIC OF KOREA, SYRIAN ARAB REPUBLIC, THE FORMER YUGOSLAV REPUBLIC OF MACEDONIA, UKRAINE and VENEZUELA.

The Council postponed to a future session the election of five members from African States for a term beginning on the date of election.

Elections postponed from previous sessions

COMMITTEE ON NEW AND RENEWABLE SOURCES OF ENERGY AND ON ENERGY FOR DEVELOPMENT

The Council elected William Michael Mebane (Italy) to complete the unexpired portion of the term of Giovanni Carlo Pinchera (Italy), deceased.

The Council postponed to a future session the election of three members from African States for a term beginning on the date of election.

COMMISSION ON HUMAN SETTLEMENTS

The Council postponed to a future session the election of one member from African States and two members from Asian States for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 1999.

STATISTICAL COMMISSION

The Council postponed to a future session the election of one member from Latin American and Caribbean States for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 1999.

COMMISSION ON SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY FOR DEVELOPMENT

The Council postponed to a future session the election of two members from Western European and other States for a term beginning on the date of election.

INTERGOVERNMENTAL WORKING GROUP OF EXPERTS ON INTERNATIONAL STANDARDS OF ACCOUNTING AND REPORTING

The Council postponed to a future session the election of one member from African States and two members from Latin American and Caribbean States for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 1997 and one member from Latin American and Caribbean States for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 1996.

EXECUTIVE BOARD OF THE WORLD FOOD PROGRAMME

The Council elected the following three Member States: DOMINICAN REPUBLIC, MAURITANIA and TUNISIA.¹²⁴

The Council drew lots to determine the initial terms of office of the members of the Board. It was thus decided that the following six States would serve for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 1998: CAMEROON, FINLAND, INDIA, PARAGUAY, SWEDEN and TUNISIA; the following six States would serve for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 1997; HUNGARY, INDONESIA, ITALY, MAURITANIA, NORWAY and PAKISTAN; and the following six States would serve for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 1996: ANGOLA, DOMINICAN REPUBLIC, JAPAN, PHILIPPINES, UGANDA and UNITED KINGDOM OF GREAT BRITAIN AND NORTHERN IRELAND.

Nominations postponed from previous sessions

WORLD FOOD COUNCIL

The Council postponed to a future session the nomination of two members from Latin American and Caribbean States and three members from Western European and other States for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 1998, two members from Western European and other States for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 1997 and one member from Western European and other States and one member from Eastern European States for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 1996.

Confirmations

Also at its 2nd plenary meeting, on 9 February 1996, the Council confirmed the nominations by their Governments of

¹²⁴ The other fifteen members of the Board were elected by the Council at its resumed substantive session of 1995 (see decision 1995/326).

the following representatives on functional commissions of the Council: 125

STATISTICAL COMMISSION

ZHANG Sai (China) Mian Tayyab HASSAN (Pakistan)

COMMISSION ON POPULATION AND DEVELOPMENT

Jose Augusto LINDGREN ALVES (Brazil) Simon Barmasai arap BULLET (Kenya)

COMMISSION FOR SOCIAL DEVELOPMENT

Heike SCHMITT (Germany) Mercedes PULIDO DE BRICEÑO (Venezuela)

COMMISSION ON THE STATUS OF WOMEN

Sabria BOUKADOUM (Algeria) [Replacement]
Marcela Maria NICODEMOS (Brazil)
WANG Shuxian (China)
Fady Habib KARAM (Lebanon)
Zuzana VRANOVA (Slovakia)

COMMISSION ON CRIME PREVENTION AND CRIMINAL JUSTICE

Gholamhossein Sadeghi GHAHAREH (Islamic Republic of Iran)

¹²⁵ See E/1996/3.