1995/312. Terms of office of members of the Commission on Science and Technology for Development

At its 56th plenary meeting, on 27 July 1995, the Economic and Social Council, taking into account General Assembly resolution 46/235 of 13 April 1992 and its own decisions 1992/218 and 1992/219 of 30 April 1992, 1992/222 of 29 May 1992, 1992/268 of 30 July 1992, 1993/201 of 2 February 1993, 1993/218 of 6 April 1993, 1994/219 of 3 February 1994 and 1995/221 of 4 May 1995 and taking note of the report of the Commission on Science and Technology for Development on the work of its second session, 78 in particular its decision 2/102:79

- (a) Decided, on an exceptional basis, and on the understanding that this would not create a precedent, to extend the term of office of the current members of the Commission for an additional year, to expire on 31 December 1997, so as to allow the Commission to complete the work of its third session:
- (b) Decided also that at its resumed organizational session for 1997, following the election of the new members, there would be a drawing of lots to stagger the terms of office whether or not there continued to be vacancies, the drawing to be held for each regional group; one half of those elected, twenty-seven members, would serve for a fouryear term, beginning on 1 January 1998, and one half, twentysix members, for a two-year term, beginning on 1 January 1998; thereafter, the term of office would be four years.

⁷⁴ E/1995/4.

⁷⁵ E/1995/21.

⁷⁶ E/1995/64.

⁷⁷ E/1995/51.

⁷⁸ Official Records of the Economic and Social Council, 1995, Supplement No. 11 (E/1995/31).

⁷⁹ Ibid., chap. I, sect. C.