1993/201. Elections to subsidiary bodies of the Economic and Social Council, nominations, and confirmation of representatives on the functional commissions

Elections

At its 2nd to 5th plenary meetings, on 2,12 and 16 February 1993, the Economic and Social Council took the following action with regard to elections to its subsidiary bodies:

STATISTICAL COMMISSION

The Council elected the CZECH REPUBLIC for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 1995.

COMMISSION ON HUMAN RIGHTS

The Council elected the CZECH REPUBLIC for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 1993.

COMMISSION ON THE STATUS OF WOMEN

The Council elected SLOVAKIA for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 1995.

COMMISSION ON NARCOTIC DRUGS

The Council elected the CZECH REPUBLIC for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 1995.

COMMISSION ON SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY FOR DEVELOPMENT

The following seven Member States were elected for a term beginning on the date of election: AZERBAIJAN, BURUNDI, MALAYSIA, NIGER, TOGO, UNITED REPUBLIC OF TANZANIA and VIET NAM.

The Council postponed to a future session the election of four members from African States and six members from Western European and other States for a term beginning on the date of election.

COMMISSION ON SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT

The Council, in accordance with its decision on the establishment of the Commission,' elected the following twenty Member States for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 1995: ANTIGUA AND BARBUDA, BELGIUM, BOLIVIA, BURKINA FASO, CHILE, CHINA, GABON, GERMANY, ICELAND, INDONESIA, MALAWI, NAMIBIA, NETHERLANDS, PAKISTAN, POLAND, REPUBLIC OF KOREA, RUSSIAN FEDERATION, TUNISIA, TURKEY and URUGUAY; the following seventeen Member States for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 1994: ALGERIA, AUSTRALIA, AUSTRIA, BENIN, BRAZIL, COLOMBIA, CUBA, CZECH REPUBLIC, EGYPT, FRANCE, HUNGARY, NIGERIA, NOR-WAY, PHILIPPINES, SINGAPORE, SRI LANKA and VANUATU; and the following sixteen Member States for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 1993: ANGOLA, BARBADOS, BELARUS, BULGARIA,

CANADA, GUINEA, INDIA, ITALY, JAPAN, MADAGASCAR, MALAYSIA, MEXICO, MOROCCO, UNITED KINGDOM OF GREAT BRITAIN AND NORTHERN IRELAND, UNITED STATES OF AMERICA and VENEZUELA.

COMMISSION ON HUMAN SETTLEMENTS

The Council elected AZERBAIJAN, LESOTHO and MADA-GASCAR for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 1996.

COMMISSION ON TRANSNATIONAL CORPORATIONS

The Council elected MALAYSIA for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 1995.

The Council postponed to a future session the election of one member from Asian States for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 1995 and one member from Western European and other States for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 1993.

INTERGOVERNMENTAL WORKING GROUP OF EXPERTS ON INTERNATIONAL STANDARDS OF ACCOUNTING AND REPORTING

The Council elected LEBANON for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 1993.

COMMITTEE ON NATURAL RESOURCES

The following eleven experts were elected for a term beginning on the date of election: Guillermo Jorge Cano (Argentina), Marek Hoffmann (Poland), Sheik Ibrahim bin Sheik Ali (Malaysia), Mohammad Nawaz Khan (Pakistan), Godfrey L. S. Leshange (United Republic of Tanzania), Patrick Maselino (Zambia), Thomas P. Z. Mpofu (Zimbabwe), Erastus Kabutu Mwongera (Kenya), Dossou Barthelemy Otchoun (Benin), Luiz Fernando Soares de Assis (Brazil) and Natarayan Suryanarayanan (India).

The Council postponed to a future session the election of one expert from Asian States for a term beginning on the date of election.

EXECUTIVE BOARD OF THE UNITED NATIONS CHILDREN'S FUND

The Council elected the CZECH REPUBLIC for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 July 1993.

GOVERNING COUNCIL OF THE UNITED NATIONS DEVELOPMENT PROGRAMME

The Council elected SLOVAKIA for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on the day preceding the organizational meeting of the Governing Council in February 1996.

Nominations

WORLD FOOD COUNCIL

At its 3rd plenary meeting, on 12 February 1993, the Council, in accordance with General Assembly resolution 3348 (XXDC) of 17 December 1974, nominated INDIA for election by the General Assembly at its forty-seventh session for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 1995.

Confirmations

At its 3rd plenary meeting, on 12 February 1993, the Council confirmed die nominations by their Governments of the following representatives on functional commissions of the Council:²

STATISTICAL COMMISSION

Ian CASTLES (Australia)
Eurico de ANDRADE NEVES BORBA (Brazil)
R. THAMARAJAKSHI (India)
Hiroyasu KUDO (Japan)
Miguel CERVERA FLORES (Mexico)
William MCLENNAN (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland)
POPULATION COMMISSION

Robert CLIQUET (Flemish) (Belgium) Hubert GERARD (French) (Belgium) Claude BAILLARGEON (Canada) Jose Olinto RUEDA PLATA (Colombia) Charlotte HOHN (Germany) Gyorgy VUKOVION (Hungary)

COMMISSION FOR SOCIAL DEVELOPMENT Alvaro GARCIA HURTADO (Chile) Ole Lonsmann POULSEN (Denmark) Peter Serracino INGLOTT (Malta) J. N . M., RICHELLE (Netherlands) Corazdn Alma G. DE LEON (Philippines) Charles M. UTBTE (Zimbabwe)

COMMISSION ON HUMAN RIGHTS Celso Luiz NUNES AMORIM (Brazil) Hannu HALINEN (Finland) Dhurma Gian NATH (Mauritius) Zdzislaw KEDZIA (Poland) PARK SOO Kil (Republic of Korea) Tchotcho Seenam Marcelline MENSAH (Togo) J. Kenneth BLACKWELL (United States of America)

COMMISSION ON THE STATUS OF WOMEN Faouzia BOUMAIZA (Algeria) Helen L'ORANGE (Australia) Johanna DOHNAL (Austria) Natalia I. DROZD (Belarus) Adriana de la Espriella DE LEON (Colombia) Makiko SAKAI (Japan) Khadiga Karrar ELTAYEB (Sudan) Saisuree CHUTIKUL (Thailand)

COMMISSION ON CRIME PREVENTION AND CRIMINAL JUSTICE

Geoffrey DABB (Australia)

Ekaterina Panayotova TRENDAFILOVA-BACHVAROVA (Bulgaria)

Rhadys ABREU DE POLANCO (Dominican Republic)

Kiroly BARD (Hungary)

MULADI (Indonesia)

Yuki FURUTA (Japan)

Mustafa ABD AL-MAJID KARIH (Libyan Arab Jamahiriya)

LEE See Young (Republic of Korea)

Slaheddine M'RAD (Tunisia)

COMMISSION ON SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY FOR DEVELOPMENT

Vladimir Arkhipovich LABUNOV (Belarus)

George A. KINT (Belgium)

WANG Shaoqi (China)

Rafael Ramirez ZORRO (Colombia)

Arnold[©] K. VENTURA (Jamaica)

Fakhruddin DAGHESTANI (Jordan)

Taher E. JEHAIMI (Libyan Arab Jamahiriya)

Daniel Crane SMITH (Marshall Islands)

Alfredo Phillips GREENE (Mexico)

Abdellah EL MASSLOUT (Morocco)

Hilal A. RAZA (Pakistan)

Oleg V. ROUDENSKY (Russian Federation)

Mansour AL-MALIK (Saudi Arabia)

Charles Herbert Geoffrey OLDHAM (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland)

Richard E. BISSELL (United States of America)