## 1992/268. Elections

At its 40th and 42nd plenary meetings, on 30 and 31 July 1992, the Economic and Social Council took the following action with regard to elections to its subsidiary bodies:

## COMMISSION ON SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY FOR DEVELOPMENT

The following thirty-six States were elected for a term beginning on 1 January 1993: Antigua and Barbuda, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Bul-Garia, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Egypt, Ethiopia, Germany, Guatemala, India, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kuwait, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Marshall Islands, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Pakistan, Philippines, Romania, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Spain, Uganda, Ukraine, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America and Uruguay.

### COMMITTEE ON NATURAL RESOURCES

The following fourteen experts were elected for a term beginning on 1 January 1993: Regis Percy Arslanian (Brazil), Denis A. Davis (Canada), Vladislav M. Dolgopolov (Russian Federation), Malin Falkenmark (Sweden), Ugo Farinelli (Italy), Patricio Jerez (Nicaragua), José Manuel Mejéa Angel (Colombia), Lukabu Khabouji N'Zaji (Zaire), Hendrik Martinus Oudshoorn (Netherlands), Neculai Pav-lovschi (Romania), Karlheinz Rieck (Germany), R. W. Roye Rutland (Australia), Aldo Truccio (Argentina) and Zhang Hai-Lun (China).

## COMMITTEE ON NEW AND RENEWABLE SOURCES OF ENERGY AND ON ENERGY FOR DEVELOPMENT

The following twenty experts were elected for a term be-ginning on 1 January 1993: Marcelino K. Actouka (Micro-nesia, Federated States of), Mohammad Al Ramadhan (Ku-wait), Mohammed Salem Sarur Al-Sabban (Saudi Arabia), Messaoud Boumaour (Algeria), José Luis Bozzo (Uru-guay), Bernard Devin (France), Ronaldo Costa Filho (Bra-zil), Paul-Georg Gutermuth (Germany), Wolfgang Hein (Austria), Christian Atoki Ileka (Zaire), Thomas B. Johans-son (Sweden), Virgil Musatescu (Romania), Alexander A. Penchev (Bulgaria), Giovanni Carlo Pinchera (Italy), Juan Camilo Restrepo Salazar (Colombia), Zoilo Rodas Rodas (Paraguay), E. V. Sastry (India), Wilhelmus C. Turken-burg (Netherlands), Dmitri B. Volfberg (Russian Federa-tion) and Zhang Guocheng (China).

#### POPULATION COMMISSION

The following two States were elected for a four-year term beginning on 1 January 1993: CAMEROON and UNITED REPUBLIC OF TANZANIA.

#### COMMISSION ON HUMAN SETTLEMENTS

The following four States were elected for a four-year term beginning on 1 January 1993: INDONESIA, LIBYAN ARAB JAMAHIRIYA, MALAWI and SOMALIA.

The Council postponed until a future session the election of two members from African States and one member from Eastern European States for a four-year term beginning on 1 January 1993.

INTERGOVERNMENTAL WORKING GROUP OF EXPERTS ON INTERNATIONAL STANDARDS OF ACCOUNTING AND REPORTING

The Council elected PANAMA for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 1993, and postponed until a future session the election of one member from Asian States for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 1993.

# COMMITTEE ON FOOD AID POLICIES AND PROGRAMMES

The Council elected NIGERIA for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 1993.