1992/216. Elections, nominations and appointments

At its 4th to 6th plenary meetings, on 29 and 30 April 1992, the Economic and Social Council took the following action with regard to elections to its subsidiary bodies:

Elections

STATISTICAL COMMISSION

The following eight Member States were elected for a four-year term beginning on 1 January 1993: AUSTRALIA, BRAZIL, INDIA, JAPAN, MEXICO, SWEDEN, UKRAINE and UNITED KINGDOM OF GREAT BRITAIN AND NORTHERN IRELAND.

POPULATION COMMISSION

The following seven Member States were elected for a four-year term beginning on 1 January 1993: BANGLA-DESH, BELGIUM, CANADA, COLOMBIA, GERMANY, HUN-GARY and NICARAGUA.

The Council postponed to a future session the election of two members from African States for a four-year term beginning on 1 January 1993.

COMMISSION FOR SOCIAL DEVELOPMENT

The following ten Member States were elected for a four-year term beginning on 1 January 1993: BOLIVIA, CAMEROON, CHILE, CHINA, DENMARK, MALTA, NETHERLANDS, PHILIPPINES, YUGOSLAVIA and ZIMBABWE.

COMMISSION ON HUMAN RIGHTS

The following fourteen Member States were elected for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 1993: BRAZIL, FINLAND, FRANCE, GUINEA-BISSAU, MALAYSIA, MAURITIUS, MEXICO, PAKISTAN, POLAND, REPUBLIC OF KOREA, ROMANIA, SUDAN, TOGO and UNITED STATES OF

COMMISSION ON THE STATUS OF WOMEN

AMERICA.

The following eleven Member States were elected for a four-year term beginning on 1 January 1993: ALGERIA, AUSTRALIA, AUSTRIA, BELARUS, COLOMBIA, CUBA, FRANCE, GUINEA-BISSAU, JAPAN, SUDAN and THAILAND.

COMMISSION ON HUMAN SETTLEMENTS

The following twelve Member States were elected for a four-year term beginning on 1 January 1993: BAHAMAS, CANADA, CHINA, FRANCE, HUNGARY, ITALY, JAMAICA, NETHERLANDS, PAPUA NEW GUINEA, SWEDEN, UNITED ARAB EMIRATES and VENEZUELA.

The Council postponed to a future session the election of five members from African States, one member from Asian States and one member from Eastern European States for a four-year term beginning on 1 January 1993.

EXECUTIVE BOARD OF THE UNITED NATIONS CHILDREN'S FUND

The following ten Member States were elected for a three-year term beginning on 1 August 1992: BULGARIA, CANADA, CHINA, COLOMBIA, COSTA RICA, GERMANY, MOZAMBIQUE, NEPAL, NETHERLANDS and SWEDEN.

GOVERNING COUNCIL OF THE UNITED NATIONS DEVELOPMENT PROGRAMME

The following sixteen States were elected for a three-year term beginning on the first day of the organizational meeting of the Governing Council to be held in February 1993 and expiring on the day preceding the organizational meeting three years later: Benin, Côte d'Ivoire, Czechoslovakia, Ecuador, Germany, India, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Jamaica, Netherlands, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Sudan, Sweden and Switzerland.

COMMISSION ON TRANSNATIONAL CORPORATIONS

The following fourteen States were elected for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 1993: Algeria, Argentina, Belarus, Benin, China, France, Germany, Japan, Peru, Romania, Switzerland, Tunisia, Uruguay and Zimbabwe.

The Council also elected BAHAMAS for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 1993.

The Council postponed to a future session the election of (a) two members from Asian States for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 1993 and (b) one member from Western European and other States for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 1993.

INTERGOVERNMENTAL WORKING GROUP OF EXPERTS ON INTERNATIONAL STANDARDS OF ACCOUNTING AND REPORTING

The Council elected URUGUAY for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 1994.

The Council postponed to a future session the election of one member from Asian States and one member from Latin American and Caribbean States for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 1993.

COMMITTEE ON FOOD AID POLICIES AND PROGRAMMES

The following six Member States were elected for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 1993: DENMARK, DOMINICAN REPUBLIC, HUNGARY, INDIA, ITALY and NIGER.

The Council postponed to a future session the election of one member from the States included in List A contained in the report of the Committee on Food Aid Policies and Programmes on the work of its first special session.¹¹

COMMITTEE ON ECONOMIC, SOCIAL AND CULTURAL RIGHTS

The following nine experts were elected for a four-year term beginning on 1 January 1993: Madoe Virginie Ahodikpe (Togo), Juan Alvarez Vita (Peru), Dumitru Ceausu (Romania), Abdessatar Grissa (Tunisia), María de los Angeles Jiménez Butragueño (Spain), Kenneth Osborne Rattray (Jamaica), Chikako Taya (Japan), Philippe Texier (France) and Margerita Vysokajová (Czechoslovakia).

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF THE PROGRAMME OF THE UNITED NATIONS HIGH COMMISSIONER FOR REFUGEES

Pursuant to General Assembly resolution 46/105 of 16 December 1991, in which the Assembly decided to increase the membership of the Executive Committee of the Programme of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees from forty-four to forty-six, the Council elected ETHIOPIA and HUNGARY as members of the Execu-tive Committee.

Nominations

WORLD FOOD COUNCIL

The Council, in accordance with General Assembly resolution 3348 (XXIX) of 17 December 1974, nominated the following Member States for election by the General Assembly at its forty-seventh session for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 1993:

- (a) African States (three vacancies): GUINEA-BISSAU, NIGERIA and TUNISIA;
- (b) Asian States (three vacancies): IRAN (ISLAMIC REPUBLIC OF) and JAPAN;
- (c) Eastern European States (one vacancy): HUN-GARY;
- (d) Latin American and Caribbean States (two vacancies): ECUADOR and PERU;
- (e) Western European and other States (three vacancies): FRANCE, ITALY and NORWAY.

COMMITTEE FOR PROGRAMME AND COORDINATION

The Council, in accordance with its resolution 2008 (LX) of 14 May 1976 and General Assembly decision 42/450 of 17 December 1987, nominated the following Member States for election by the General Assembly at its forty-seventh session for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 1993:

- (a) African States (three vacancies): EGYPT, KENYA and TOGO;
- (b) Asian States (three vacancies): CHINA, JAPAN and REPUBLIC OF KOREA;
- (c) Latin American and Caribbean States (one vacancy): NICARAGUA.

Appointments

BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE INTERNATIONAL RESEARCH AND TRAINING INSTITUTE FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF WOMEN

The Council appointed Ihsan Abdalla Algabshawi (Sudan), Aida González Martínez (Mexico) and Els Postel-Coster (Netherlands) as members of the Board of Trustees for a three-year term beginning on 1 July 1992.