## Decision

#### 2012/201 B

# Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments to subsidiary and related bodies of the Economic and Social Council

At its 49th plenary meeting, on 27 July 2012, the Economic and Social Council took the following action with regard to vacancies in its subsidiary and related bodies:

#### **Elections**

### Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights

The Council elected Maria Virginia **Bras Gomes** (Portugal) to the Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights for a term beginning on 1 January 2013 and expiring on 31 December 2014 to fill a vacancy arising from the resignation of Eibe **Riedel** (Germany).

# **Elections postponed from previous sessions**

#### Commission on Science and Technology for Development

The Council elected **Chile**, **Costa Rica**, **Oman** and **Switzerland** to fill outstanding vacancies on the Commission on Science and Technology for Development for a four-year term beginning on 1 January 2013 and expiring on 31 December 2016.

The Council further postponed the election of one member from Asia-Pacific States, one member from Eastern European States and one member from Western European and other States for a four-year term beginning on 1 January 2013 and expiring on 31 December 2016.

## **Committee for the United Nations Population Award**

The Council elected Jamaica to fill an outstanding vacancy on the Committee for the United Nations Population Award for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2013 and expiring on 31 December 2015.

The Council further postponed the election of three members from African States, three members from Asia-Pacific States and one member from Western European and other States for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2013 and expiring on 31 December 2015.

## **Nominations**

## **Committee for Programme and Coordination**

The Council nominated **France** for election by the General Assembly to the Committee for Programme and Coordination for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2013 and expiring on 31 December 2015.

The Council further postponed the nomination of one member from Latin American and Caribbean States and one member from Western European and other States for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2013 and expiring on 31 December 2015; and the nomination of four members from Western European and other States for a term beginning on the date of their election by the General Assembly and expiring on 31 December 2014.

## **Appointments**

## **Committee for Development Policy**

The Council appointed the following 24 experts to the Committee for Development Policy for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2013 and expiring on 31 December 2015: Jose Antonio Alonso (Spain), Nouria Benghabrit-Remaoun (Algeria), Giovanni Andrea Cornia (Italy), Diane Elson (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland), Sakiko Fukuda-Parr (Japan), Norman Girvan (Jamaica), Ann Harrison (United States of America), Stephan Klasen (Germany), Keun Lee (Republic of Korea), Lu Aiguo (China), Wahiduddin Mahmud (Bangladesh), Thandika Mkandawire (Sweden), Adil Najam (Pakistan), Léonce Ndikumana (Burundi), José Antonio Ocampo Gaviria (Colombia), Tea Petrin (Slovenia), Patrick Plane (France), Victor Polterovich (Russian Federation), Pilar Romaguera (Chile), Onalenna Selolwane (Botswana), Claudia Sheinbaum Pardo (Mexico), Madhura Swaminathan (India), Zenebewerke Tadesse (Ethiopia) and Dzodzi Tsikata (Ghana).