2010/201 F

Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments to subsidiary and related bodies of the Economic and Social Council

At its 50th plenary meeting, on 10 November 2010, the Economic and Social Council took the following action with regard to the composition of the Executive Board of the United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women:

Elections

Executive Board of the United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women

The Council elected the following forty-one States as members of the Executive Board: Angola, Argentina, Bangladesh, Brazil, Cape Verde, China, Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Denmark, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Estonia, Ethiopia, France, Grenada, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Lesotho, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Mexico, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, Peru, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Spain, Sweden, Timor-Leste, Ukraine, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United Republic of Tanzania and United States of America.

In accordance with Council resolution 2010/35 of 25 October 2010, the following seventeen countries were elected for a two-year term of office beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 2012: Argentina, Bangladesh, Brazil, Côte d'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, El Salvador, Estonia, France, India, Italy, Lesotho, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Malaysia, Pakistan, Russian Federation, Timor-Leste and United Republic of Tanzania.

In accordance with Council resolution 2010/35 of 25 October 2010, the following eighteen countries were elected for a three-year term of office beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 2013: Angola, Cape Verde, China, Congo, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Ethiopia, Grenada, Hungary, Indonesia, Japan, Kazakhstan, Luxembourg, Nigeria, Peru, Republic of Korea, Sweden and Ukraine.

In accordance with paragraph 61 (a) of General Assembly resolution 64/289 of 2 July 2010, the following four contributing countries were elected for a three-year term of office beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 2013: Norway, Spain, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and the United States of America.

In accordance with paragraph 61 (b) of General Assembly resolution 64/289 of 2 July 2010, the following two contributing countries were elected for a three-year term of office beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 2013: Mexico and Saudi Arabia.