Statistical Commission Forty-second session 22 - 25 February 2011 Item 3(a) of the provisional agenda

Background document Available in English only

Items for discussion and decision: World Statistics Day

World Statistics Day

Prepared by the United Nations Statistics Division

This is a revision of Annex I of the report of the Secretary-General on the World Statistics Day (E/CN.3/2011/2), including information on country activities to celebrate World Statistics Day, available at the UN Statistics Division as of 22 February 2011.

Updated Annex I a

Countries and areas that celebrated World Statistics Day

Afghanistan		
Aland Islands		
Algeria		

Andorra

Anguilla

Argentina

Armenia

Australia

Austria

Azerbaijan

Bahamas

Barbados

Bangladesh

Belarus

Belgium

Bermuda

Bhutan

Bolivia (Plurinational State of)

Botswana

Brazil

Bulgaria

Burkina Faso

Burundi

Cambodia

Cameroon

Canada

Cape Verde

Chad

Chile

China

Colombia

a The list of countries and areas is based on information available to the United Nations Statistics Division as of 22 February 2011.

Costa Rica

Croatia

Cuba

Curaçao

Cyprus

Czech Republic

Democratic People's Republic of Korea

Democratic Republic of the Congo

Dominican Republic

Dominica

Ecuador

Egypt

Estonia

Ethiopia

Fiji

Finland

France

Gabon

Gambia

Germany

Georgia

Ghana

Greece

Grenada

Guinea-Bissau

Guyana

Hong Kong (Special Administrative Region of China)

Hungary

India

Indonesia

Iraq

Iran, Islamic Republic of

Ireland

Israel

Italy

Jamaica

Japan

Jordan

Kazakhstan

Kenya

Lao People's Democratic Republic

Latvia

Lebanon

Libyan Arab Jamahiriya

Lithuania

Luxembourg

Madagascar

Malawi

Malaysia

Maldives

Mali

Malta

Mauritius

Mexico

Micronesia (Federated States of)

Mongolia

Morocco

Mozambique

Myanmar

Namibia

Nepal

Netherlands

New Zealand

Nicaragua

Nigeria

Norway

Occupied Palestinian Territory

Oman

Pakistan

Paraguay

Papua New Guinea

Peru

Philippines

Poland

Portugal

Puerto Rico

Qatar

Republic of Korea

Republic of Moldova

Romania

Russian Federation

Samoa

Saudi Arabia

Senegal

Serbia

Sierra Leone

Singapore

Slovakia

South Africa

Spain

Sri Lanka

Suriname

Switzerland

Tajikistan

Thailand

The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia

Timor-Leste

Togo

Tonga

Trinidad and Tobago

Tunisia

Turkey

Turkmenistan

Ukraine

United Arab Emirates (Sharjah)

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

United Republic of Tanzania

United States of America

Vanuatu

Yemen

Zimbabwe