

10 December 2020

Excellency,

I refer to General Assembly resolution 69/313 on the Addis Ababa Action Agenda which established a Technology Facilitation Mechanism including a collaborative Multi-stakeholder Forum on Science, Technology and Innovation for the Sustainable Development Goals (hereafter STI forum), and to resolution 70/1 on 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development which launched the Technology Facilitation Mechanism (TFM) in September 2015.

As requested by General Assembly resolution 70/1, the President of ECOSOC will convene the meetings of the STI forum to discuss science, technology and innovation cooperation around thematic areas for the implementation of the Sustainable Development Goals. The General Assembly also decided that the meetings of the forum will be co-chaired by two Member States and will result in a summary of discussions elaborated by the two co-chairs, as an input to the meetings of the High-Level Political Forum for Sustainable Development (HLPF).

In this regard, I have the honour to inform you that, after consultations, I have decided to appoint H.E. Mr. Andrejs Pildegovičs, Permanent Representative of Latvia to the United Nations, and H.E. Mr. Dian Triansyah Djani, Permanent Representative of Indonesia to the United Nations, to act as co-chairs for the next STI forum, which will be held from 4 to 5 May 2021 in New York.

I would like to thank Ambassador Pildegovičs and Ambassador Djani for accepting this responsibility and trust that you will extend your full cooperation and support to them.

Please accept, Excellency, the assurances of my highest consideration.

Munir Akram

All Permanent Representatives and Permanent Observers to the United Nations New York